If you enjoy the freedom and excitement that comes with riding a motorcycle in Wisconsin, it’s important you take the proper steps to protect yourself. Regardless of how safe a rider you may be, there are many other motorists who are careless about sharing the road. For this reason, personal injury lawyers recommend making sure you have a good understanding of the state’s motorcycle laws so you can reduce your accident risk, as well as know how to handle a crash if one does occur.
What to Know Before Riding a Motorcycle in Wisconsin
What protective gear do I need?
Under Wisconsin law, all riders must have some kind of eye protection, which can be goggles, glasses, a helmet shield, or windscreen. Adults with a class M motorcycle license can choose not to wear a helmet, but it’s required for any rider or passenger who is under the age of 18 and those who only have a learner’s or instructional permit. All helmets have to meet federal safety standards.
What are the Wisconsin laws for operating a motorcycle?
Motorcyclists must keep their headlights turned on whether riding during the day or night to increase visibility for everyone on the road. Additionally, handlebars cannot be more than 30 inches above seat level, no more than two people can ride at a time, all passengers have to sit in back of the bike’s operator, and riders with just a permit are only allowed to operate a motorcycle in the daytime.
Am I required to have motorcycle insurance?
It is illegal to operate a motorcycle in Wisconsin without meeting the state’s minimum liability insurance requirements. Riders must carry $25,000 for bodily injury per person, $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 for property damage. However, it’s wise to consider increasing these limits and adding collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist to ensure adequate protection.
What should I do after a motorcycle crash?
In the event you’re involved in a crash, your first priority should be seeking medical attention. If the accident was someone else’s fault, the next step should be consulting a personal injury lawyer to determine your right to compensation. In Wisconsin, the statute of limitations for filing a claim is three years from the date of the incident.
If you have been in a motorcycle accident through no fault of your own, a personal injury lawyer from Fitzpatrick, Skemp & Associates, LLC can help explore your legal options. Over the last two decades, they have advocated on behalf of countless injury victims throughout La Crosse County, WI, earning a proven track record of success. You can rely on them to fight aggressively for the maximum compensation you deserve. Call (877) 784-1230 to arrange a free consultation with an experienced personal injury lawyer or visit them online for more information on how they can benefit your case.